Book Review: Deception of the Magician

Deception of the Magician

Author: A.L. Tyler

Genre: YA Fantasy

From the Author’s Website: I am a gamer, a dreamer, and a productive procrastinator. I do my own stunts and cover art. Writing is my escape.

Available for Kindle

In this second book of the Waldgrave trilogy, Lena Collins finds herself torn between the expectations placed on her by the Silenti and her desire to live her own life. The burden of living trapped within Waldgrave, considered a holy figure by some and by others a symbol of the apocalypse, pushes her to find a solution to clear her name and simultaneously win back her freedom. Amid the stirrings of revolution from the lower classes of Silenti,Lenaseeks to find the missing holy relic that will sever the ties that bind her to Waldgrave and undermine her grandfather’s attempts to manipulate her and everyone around her. Constantly questioning who she can trust,Lenadiscovers a hidden secret that could send the Silenti spiraling into a civil war that could bring down everything and everyone.

Armed with my very positive impression of the first book of the series, Arrival of the Traveler, I was eager to followLenaas her journey continued through this book. I also came with a smidgen of hesitation, as I worried that this story might be affected by the middle-book-of-a-trilogy-disease; a book that connects details and explains things but is generally less engaging when considered next to the first and last installments. I’m delighted to report I needn’t have worried. This story engages the reader in a whole new level of character development, pushing and pulling us from one side to the other while simultaneously wondering if we should trust anything out ofGriffin’s mouth.

Spending time engaging the reader in the play between the Silenti elite and those they deem as only qualified to be their maids and servants was a nice counterpoint in this novel. As I read this story while watching Occupy Wall Street really coming into itself, it served to accentuate and explore the division between the Haves and Have Nots. While there was a fair amount of interaction betweenLenaand those in the serving class, I wanted more development of their mutual relationship. I think the later sections of the book would take on even more import with more progression of these relationships earlier in the story.

Overall, Deception of the Magician was yet another engaging read from A. L. Tyler, full of mystery and intrigue linked by an unpredictable storyline and great characters. I’m left wondering where she will take things next, and am eager to read the third installment in the series.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Deception of the Magician

  1. Hi Becky! I love the new look for your blog–the snow is very pretty. 🙂

    I wanted to leave a comment to say thanks for reviewing Deception of the Magician. I’m glad you enjoyed the book.

    • I’m glad you like it! I can’t wait to read the third installment in the series – if you check the “recommendations” page you’ll see the series is now on my list of recommended reads!!

Leave a Reply

